• +2348036678249
  • info@fmcabuja.gov.ng
  • Plot 96 Research & Institute District, Besides EFCC Headquarters, Abuja

Ophthalmology Department

Ophthalmology Department


The department of ophthalmology, FMC Abuja came into existence in August 2013. It was started by the pioneer Head of Department, Dr J.C Eziechila. The initial staff strength was 4 consisting of one Consultant Ophthalmologist, one medical officer and two Optometrists. The department initially shared one office space with the Department of Otorhinolaryngology. One year later, the department moved to its present site to occupy some rooms within the then newly constructed managed care building. The staff strength increased from 4 to 6 with the addition of an ophthalmic nurse and an Optometrist.

In 2015, another Consultant Ophthalmologist was added to the team. Various equipment including phaco machine, Central Visual Field analyzer, pachymeter, autorefractor etc was also purchased to add to the previous equipment the department had.

Presently, the department has 2 consultant ophthalmologists, 2 medical officers, 2 ophthalmic nurses, 4 optometrists, 1 optician and 1 clerical officer



  1. Consultant Outpatient Clinics: Days- Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
  2. In-patient services: 24 hours daily
  3. Surgical Services: Wednesday (Electives)
  4. Emergency services: 24 hours daily
Hi, How Can We Help You?